Atlanta, Did You Stop And Watch The Stars? I Think That You Should Have.

You hear it all of the time, especially from the older generation. “There is nothing like the old school” and “We will never get music like that again.” I admit, I am guilty of saying it a few times myself. There are only so many times you can hear artist call women out of their name on a song or speak in what is supposed to be English but misses the mark. It gets old quick.

Twilight Productions 2 has given those of us who need a break from the norm some relief. Don’t get me wrong, I am an 80’s baby who is very much a fan of most of the artist today but I grew up on music from the 80’s and 90’s where women were women and men were men. Not b*tches, h**s or ni**as.

Enter “An Evening Under The Stars” featuring DC’s own Raheem DeVaughn, Guy (feat. Teddy Riley and Aaron Hall) and to close out the show Mr. Love himself,  Musiq Soulchild. A show full of stars who are all legends in their own right. Decades of amazing music together on one stage. How can you go wrong?

dsc_0018

Being fairly new to Georgia, I am not quite adjusted to this Atlanta heat and how Raheem DeVaughn made his way to the stage with that amazing blazer on is beyond me but power to him. Outside of his fashion choices, this King brought his own special blend of socially conscience and bedroom rocking music to the stage. Music that had the audience both on their feet, in their feelings and in thought.


dsc_0055

DeVaughn, who is also starting in the stage adaptation of ‘Love Jones’, took a day off to spend time with the crowd gathered at Wolfcreek Amphitheater that evening. Showing them how much he appreciated every single one of them included jumping off of the stage to be one on one with them. Singing hits like “Guess Who Loves You More”, “Customer” and “Bulletproof” (video above) he always leaves a lasting impression on a crowd.

Shows are not without their hitches and delays happen frequently. There was no difference with this show. Although the first act seemed to make it on stage just a few minutes past the start time, the second act did not show the same attention to time.

Where they faulted on time, they made up for with their performance. There is a short list of artist that I would pay to see a million times over and Saturday, GUY made it to that list.

dsc_0196

“I Like”, “Groove Me” and “Let’s Chill” are all classic R&B. Live instrumentation, dancers and undeniable talent. That is Teddy Riley and Aaron Hall. I don’t think the crowd sat down during one minute of their set.

Not only did they perform hits from the group but Aaron performed “I Miss You” from his solo album (that video made me cry Aaron, just saying) and Teddy performed hits from Blackstreet as well as Wreckx N Effect.

dsc_0221



Teddy Riley reminded the crowd just how strong his pen game is by performing Michael Jackson’s “Remember The Time” and I might be late but who knew that he and Aaron Hall wrote Bobby Brown’s “Prerogative”?

Don’t take my word for it, just take a look at the clip of their performance below and buy tickets when they come to a city near you. You won’t regret it!

dsc_0232

Last but certainly not least was Musiq Soulchild. Accompanied by his super talented background vocalist, the singer dished out hits from throughout his career. “Love”, “HalfCrazy”, “For The Night” and his new single “I do”.

dsc_0247

Have you ever forgotten just how many songs from one artist that you absolutely love? I honestly forgot how extensive Musiq’s catalog is. I don’t know about you but I could just hit play and listen for hours.

The audience, including myself and a lot of the event staff, were up dancing and having a good time. All of us could feel the energy being projected from the stage, it was infectious. This is not the first time I have seen him bless a stage and it certainly won’t be the last. He never disappoints.

dsc_0251

Overall, Twilight Productions 2 put together a great show. It was a reintroduction to what music has been missing and I miss this show already. Follow them on Facebook and Twitter to keep up with shows they have coming up next. I for one definitely will be.

Leave a Reply

